I finally finished up Bert’s quilt. It is based off of the New Wave pattern by Oh Fransson!. I’m only…oh, a year late on it or so. I think I started it last February.

Anyways, I had started hand binding it and it is impossible with Bert and with the girls and with life in general right now. I could only bind in snippets of about two minutes and usually had a boy crawling all over me or trying to snuggle under his blanket.

I sat down with my morning coffee to read blogs and came across a post on zig zag stitching quilt bindings. I was so inspired that I ran upstairs and finished his quilt up in about five minutes. Is it perfect? Heck no. Does it matter? Not at all. I quilted this for him to use and if I continued on the route of hand binding, it would be too small for him to use in about five minutes.

Will I use this technique again? Certainly! If I were to hand bind every quilt, none would ever get done. I was never satisified with using a straight stitch to bind quilts but the zig zag stitch is great.

Quilt Details:

Size: Crib
Fabrics Used: Green Mini Dots from All Star 2 for Riley Blake, Green Argyle from Hooty Hoot Kangaroo for Riley Blake, Green Plaid from Felicity for Riley Blake, Orange Bullseye Stars from Riley Blake, Main Green Stars from All Star 2 for Riley Blake,  Large Orange Polka Dots from All Star 2 for Riley Blake, Square Green Raindrops from Rainy Days for Riley Blake, Blue Whales from Urban Zoologie by Anne Kelle for Robert Kaufman, Green Bullseye Stars from All Star 2 for Riley Blake, Green Main Stars from All Star 2 for Riley Blake, Earth Elephant Dots from Urban Circus by Laurie Wisbrun for Robert Kaufman, Large Green Polka Dots from All Star 2 for Riley Blake, Orange Mini Dot from All Star 2 for Riley Blake. Backed in Cream Star Dot Flannel from All Star for Riley Blake.