Image

Yesterday, the kids and I went on a bike riding play date at a local school and we packed a picnic lunch. Turkey and mermaids (mayonnaise) for Lulu, PB&J for Darsie, and PB for Berty (eaten before we had even left the house and a handful of crust handed to me).

We have a fridge full of tomatoes at the moment, most from a garden in Oregon but a couple of handfuls from our own garden, and I love a good BLT. But we’re out of the L(ettuce). So, instead, I piled two pieces of Texas toast that I toasted with butter in a pan on the stove high with mayonnaise, thick-sliced tomatoes, pepper bacon, brown turkey breast, and cheddar cheese.

I made one for dinner, too. It was that good. Especially when paired with hawaiian bbq chips and a big platter of fresh bell peppers and cucumbers with a ranch dip. Heaven.

I know the photo is horrid, but the sandwich is delicious. Try it.

Yesterday, the kids and I went on a bike riding play date at a local school and we packed a picnic lunch. Turkey and mermaids (mayonnaise) for Lulu, PB&J for Darsie, and PB for Berty (eaten before we had even left the house and a handful of crust handed to me).

We have a fridge full of tomatoes at the moment, most from a garden in Oregon but a couple of handfuls from our own garden, and I love a good BLT. But we’re out of the L(ettuce). So, instead, I piled two pieces of Texas toast that I toasted with butter in a pan on the stove high with mayonnaise, thick-sliced tomatoes, pepper bacon, brown turkey breast, and cheddar cheese.

I made one for dinner, too. It was that good. Especially when paired with hawaiian bbq chips and a big platter of fresh bell peppers and cucumbers with a ranch dip. Heaven.

I know the photo is horrid, but the sandwich is delicious. Try it.

In fact, I’m thinking about having another for a late breakfast. Good thing both the texas toast and the bacon are almost gone.

