September brings about pure craziness in the SmallGrapes’ household. Back to school, birthdays, long weekend trips, and all the craziness that accompanies the beginning of Fall. Whew.

Part of our back to school craziness was our middle kid starting kindergarten. How the time has flown. Part of the excitement of starting kindergarten is school supplies. And most exciting of all is the backpack. My girl picked out a super sweet backpack from Land’s End (highly recommend, by the way. My older daughter is going on the third year with her backpack). She really, really wanted a cupcake embroidery on it….and me being me, I couldn’t just pay the $5 for Land’s End to do it, I had to do it myself.

I started with this pencil sketch:

Image

And then scanned it into my computer and reworked it in Adobe Illustrator. I printed it and prepared my fabric.

Image

Here I used a simple graphite pencil, which worked great for me since the disappearing inks tend to disappear to quickly for me! 

Image

I then embroidered the cupcake using just three colors, a bright pink, a lime green, and I can’t tell if the face is dark navy or black (so much for organization, right!). I used three strands of DMC floss.

Image

I then traced around it using a glass from my cupboard and backed it with a piece of cream wool felt. Using the same pink as the frosting, I blanket stitched the two pieces of fabric together.

Image

And for the final part, using the lime green floss, I stitched it to my daughter’s backpack.

Image

She was so happy when she saw it that she hugged her backpack. It was really sweet.

And as a thank you for reading through this, I’m including the free pattern for the cupcake that I created. It has two sizes of the cupcake and includes both sizes with and without the face, although who can resist a sweet little smile? Here is the link.

Now I’m off to try to se.w a quilt in two days. Wish me luck! I’m going to need it…

