Being a small business (just myself, actually) it’s so easy to get wrapped up in appearing professional and business-focused. I’ve been reading over my blog posts and other writings and I simply don’t recognize this persona. It’s so bland! It’s so lackluster! It’s BORING.

So, let’s get real, ok?

My name is Shannon. I have three crazy kids. My house can often times be a disaster. I frequently feel frumpy. I love to sew first thing in the morning after my husband has left for work and the kids are still sleeping (hopefully). I’m looking forward to September when school starts again because this being on 100% all the time is getting exhausting. My kids are looking forward to school, too.

I love nature. I love the Puget Sound. I love to camp. I love coffee. I love ceramics and stained glass. I love to cook, which reminds me, I need to pull out some stuffed shells that I put in the freezer for dinner tonight.

I have a daughter with cerebral palsy. I have another daughter with sensory processing disorder. I have a son who is 2.5 and trying to take over the world.

I make mistakes. I yell more than I would like to admit. Very occasionally, I give MYSELF a time out. I don’t mind doing laundry, its the folding that gets to me.

I’m trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up still, despite my student loan debt.

This morning, while the kids watched TV, I sequestered a little time in my sewing room and put together this. And until I get time to finish it, it’s going to drive me nuts.

Image

Thanks for letting me share some of the real me. I hope to continue this trend although it isn’t the most natural thing for me to do.

