You may or may not know that I have a daughter with cerebral palsy, but I ALSO have a daughter that has/had Sensory Processing Disorder. This shows itself in such a variety of symptoms that varies vastly from child to child. My daughter is a craves sensory input, rather than avoiding it. And one thing that she craved was being tightly swaddled and caressing touches. From about 1.5 to 3 years old, she used a weighted blanket at nap time and at night and it truly helped her calm her world enough to sleep. These days at 5, she is the soundest sleeper ever known to mankind without any assistance, but it really helped her when she was younger.

Recently, I’ve started sewing weighted blankets for friends and people that I’ve met online. I can only hope that these blankets help other families find some moments of rest and sleep and sensory relief.

Image

ImageImage 

 

