My husband and I recently completed this project for my mom’s birthday. The back story behind this wooden box is that there is a dress in my family that was crocheted by my great grandma for my mom. Every girl from my mom down (that is a total of seven at this point) has had their photo taken in this dress around two years old. This dress has lived in a plastic bag, most recently in my house. It needed a home, that is for sure. So, for my mom’s birthday, my husband and I sketched up this box and put it together (mostly him, I will admit). It is made of a buttery smooth white pine with a punched metal lid. I put a liner in the inside of the box using cardboard and Meadow Lace in Terra Cotta from Deer Valley by Joel Dewberry. It fits the dress well and will be a piece that is hopefully treasured for a long time.

And a photo of my youngest daughter in the dress (on my husband’s ’55 Chevy truck).

photo credit – Shay Winget Photography

