I get a lot of inspiration from looking at what other people have created, whether from a pattern available to purchase or from their own creations. I often save photos or favorite items on Flickr because I really like something.

About ten years ago or so, my friend had this fabulous purse. It was simple black and big. The neat part, at least to me, was that there was a smaller bag that she kept inside that housed her wallet and other small essentials. I looked high and low for something like that and never have found it.

Fast forward to today. I have three kids now and carry a huge purse that is exploding with stuff for the kids and for my husband. I love my bag but I don’t need to carry it into every single store, to drop my daughters off at preschool/kindergarten, etc. etc.. But I do still need to carry diapers, wipes, changes of clothes, snacks, and whathave you.

In my internet perusings recently, I’ve found several small bags that I really like but there was always something that I didn’t like. And I also have that persky “I can make something that I like better and cheaper” devil sitting on my shoulder.

So, there you have the idea of what is going to go in this blog series. I’m going to start with my idea, sketch, pattern, and hopefully get to a finished product that I love and use and can share with you. I don’t know how long it will take or if it will ever even be done, but I’m committed to sharing how I go about my process of creating with each of you.

